1. Industry
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Anthony Cirillo

AHCA Announces Quality Award Winners

By December 31, 2012

Follow me on:


The American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL) recently announced the recipients of the 2012 National Quality Award program. A total of 458 skilled nursing or assisted living facilities from across the country earned a Bronze, Silver or Gold from the three-tiered award program which commends those facilities that focus on improving the quality of care for the individuals they serve.

"Advancing quality care in our long term care facilities is not about reaching a finish line, but about an ongoing journey where we continue to endeavor. These Quality Award recipients are on the driven path," said AHCA/NCAL President & CEO Mark Parkinson.

Initiated in 1996 and centered on the criteria of the renowned Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award program has encouraged long term and post-acute care facilities to achieve performance excellence through continuous learning and development. The program's three levels - Bronze, Silver and Gold - each maintain meticulous criteria, and facilities seeking to attain all three must do so in succession.

"While it's the facilities who earn the awards, it's the residents who reap the benefits," stated John "Chick" Stepahin, Chair of the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Board of Overseers. "The program's rigorous criteria demonstrate these facilities' dedication, innovation and passion for what they do every day - caring for the frail, elderly and disabled."

In 2012, 404 facilities earned Bronze and 52 earned Silver. Only two facilities were recipients of the program's highest honor - the Gold award. Golden LivingCenter - Continental Manor in Abbotsford, WI and Grand Islander Center, Genesis HealthCare in Middletown, RI join the Gold platform with only 11 other facilities that have earned the award since the program began.

The Quality Awards are sponsored by AHCA/NCAL Associate Business Member My InnerView - a Web-based applied research and quality-management company that supports leaders across the entire assisted living, senior housing and skilled nursing profession with tools to measure, benchmark and improve performance. The awards were presented during AHCA/NCAL's 63rd Annual Convention & Expo, October 7-10 in Tampa, Florida.

For a complete list of the 2012 Quality Award recipients, please visit the AHCA website.

While there is a lot of debate over what constitutes quality in long-term care, nonetheless, these winners should be applauded for their efforts to make life better for residents.

Learn more ~ or join the conversation!


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.